Me, Decoded in 25 Questions

car with eyelashes truck nuts

There is a car in the parking lot at work that accents it’s headlights with a lustrous set of plastic eyelashes. Another vehicle in town that I see from time to time, a large pick-up truck, has a disturbingly-realistic set of over-sized chrome testicles dangling from it’s trailer hitch.

What would our grandparents think of the resources we now have at our disposal for expressing our personal style, these greatest generation folks who used the same leased-from-the-phone-company model of black telephone as all their neighbors; these geezers who, in their ignorance of pumpkin spice and soy milk, drank the same kind of coffee in the Fall as they did in the Spring? What would they think of our desire to have a personal style in the first place?

I have, for a great many years, labored under the delusion that I was unique in certain ways. “Unique” about what, I’m hard-pressed to say. In the kind of humor I enjoyed, I suppose. In the clothes I chose or in the way I assembled items on my bookshelf.

“This reminds me of you!” A friend would say. They would pass along a book, tell me a joke they’d recently heard, or they would point out a cute jacket while the two of us were window shopping. “This is just like you!

These kinds of remarks, these acknowledgments from others that something was “just like me” (and therefore not like someone else) served to reinforce my notion that I had some sort of personal style and individuality. The bubble has burst, though. I now know that I am not unique in the slightest. I am a “type,” am so very common, in fact, that any linguist or psychologist worth the paper his master’s degree is printed on could decode me, could tell you my age, my profession, what part of the country I was from, based on how I answered a handful of questions. I have learned this by taking lots of online quizzes.

I took a dialect quiz last week. It was put out by the New York Times, and I have included the link at the end of this post. The quiz, 25 questions in length, is multiple-choice in format. Here is a sample question:

“What do you call the insect that flies around in the summer and glows in the dark:
_lightning bug
_firefly
_I use lightening bug and firefly interchangeably
_peenie wallie
_I have no word for this
_other”

I answered all the questions honestly. I call them lightening bugs. I address large groups as y’all, and the meteorological phenomenon in which it rains while the sun is shining: I do, in fact (and despite the idiocy of the expression) say under such weather conditions that “the devil is beating his wife.”

When I submitted my answers to the quiz, do you know what happened? The southeastern portion of the US lit up in oranges and reds. There were blood-red dots on the three cities whose participants’ answers were most similar to mine: Columbus, GA (i.e. my hometown), Montgomery, AL (which is an hour away from Columbus, GA), and Greenville, SC. The beautiful, far-away cities that I’ve yet to visit, places like Portland, Oregon and Bar Harbor, Maine, were a cold blue. In which one of these blue cities do people call lightenin’ bugs “peenie wallies?”

I took a different quiz last month about mental age. It asked questions about my attitudes on health and fitness, cell phones, career goals, and parenting styles. After I answered the questions, the quiz said that my mental age was 37 years. 37 happens also to be my chronological age – exactly! I was hoping to find that I was mature, or maybe young at heart. I’m not. I am 37 and I act and think like other 37 year olds. I get a new cell phone as often as other 37 year olds. I am common and predictable.

Another recent quiz claimed it could advise as to which careers were suited to my personality. I took the quiz, and the results indicated I should work in a school or hospital setting. I have worked in three different settings since beginning my career, and they are…school, clinic, and hospital.

If my personality is suited to the professions of teaching and healthcare, my cultural personality, according to another quiz, said that as an overly-outgoing, loud, friendly person, I was most like people from the state of Mississippi. I am actually from Georgia, but we all know that Mississippi is basically Georgia with a slightly larger waist and laissez-faire attitude about school work.

Why do I take these quizzes? I know where I live and where I grew up, after all. I know my age and temperament. I guess what interests me, the reason why I keep taking these quizzes, is that I am intrigued by how my answers differ from yours. What makes me who I am? How am I different from others? Which questions on the dialect quiz determined that I was a south Georgia redneck and not a Tennessee hillbilly? In what ways are my opinions and attitudes different from someone who is 27 or 47?

I am very common. Most ordinary. That is the bad news. The good news is that are lots of people who think, feel and speak very much like me. Whatever I am, I am not alone.

http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2013/12/20/sunday-review/dialect-quiz-map.html?r=012028501800106010j020000040400k001001044002004100&_r=0

Pingback: Daily Prompt: Style Icon

28 Comments on “Me, Decoded in 25 Questions

  1. I took that quiz last week, and I had some very similar thoughts about it 🙂 It nailed my background too, Philadelphia (where I currently live), New York (I was born in northern New Jersey), and Baltimore (I went to college in DC). There were a lot of expressions on there I had never heard of too – and peenie wallies isn’t from any of my three cities, and I’m pretty sure it isn’t from Bar Harbor because we spent a lot of summers in Maine and I’ve never heard it there either 😉

    • Who says peenie wallies?! I just googled it so I could tell you, and I didn’t find the answer. That is interesting that the quiz was so spot on for you, too – just 25 questions. Amazing!

      • Ok, being sick and bored I took the quiz again (ok, 3 times) and put that as my answer and switched up other answers and it never identified peenie wallies with anywhere! I call shenanigans, or is that a regional phrase too?

      • See!!! It’s a foil. They threw it in to weed out the insincere test-takers. Thank you for taking on that research project. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Style icon | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  3. I took that same dialect quiz and it was remarkably accurate for me as well. And it’s funny…the older I get, the less I care about claiming to be “unique” and more concerned with labeling myself as “happy,” regardless of if it sets me apart from others.

    • Yes! I think the older we get, the more experience we having being ourselves and enjoying ourselves (even if what we are and enjoy is trite and run of the mill), the more we want that feeling of contentment. Interesting that the quiz was so accurate for you, too. Those guys know what they are doing.

    • No kidding! I think you are the first person I have heard who was not overwhelmed by the accuracy of your results. Perhaps there is something unique about your upbringing. (Maybe you are a demigod like Percy Jackson and you were not made for this world.)

  4. Pingback: Mr. Cotton And Me Feeding Squirrels | The Jittery Goat

  5. Realizing I’m not really all that unique was kind of hard, but it certainly takes some of the pressure off in my ill-fated attempts to be a hipster. I know I’m doomed from the beginning.

  6. First of all, those car accessories have bothered me for a long time. I’m not sure they even qualify as ‘style’. I think its very interesting that most of your online test results were correct. I did an age test the other day and I came up as 67.

    • 67! Maybe you’re incredibly wise and mature.

      I feel like anyone who would actually want eyelashes or testicles on his/her car would be too young to qualify for a drivers license.

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Style Icon | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

    • Sorry the link didn’t work. You could google “New York Times dialect quiz,” or you could assume it knows exactly where you’ve lived. Either way.

  8. How interesting! I want to take these quizzes now too. I’ve never heard the term “peenie wallies” but I like it. I love weird words. I do not think you are ordinary. Even though I just recently found you and haven’t seen you since we were 8, I think you are totally unique and hilarious. It’s so interesting to me how things like FB and blogs can truly change who your favorite friends are. Right now, my favorite friends are mainly people I never even see in person.

  9. Pingback: Boots! | Daily Prompt: Style Icon | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  10. Pingback: Boots! | Daily Prompt: Style Icon | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  11. A sweet widderwoman in her late seventies showed me a picture of her Christmas present from her kids: those big old eyelashes on her snazzy yellow VW beetle. Whoot!

  12. Pingback: Boots! | Kick-Ass Ireland!

Leave a Reply

