Does This Bathrobe Make Me Look Old?

My 10:30 am patient is still completing paperwork over in registration. The radiology techs, in matching grey scrubs, are chatting amongst one another as they work. Busily completing some documentation, I have all but tuned them out when something is said which catches my attention.

“…and I sort of want one,” a rad tech says to the other four, “but I don’t want one, too, you know? Because it means I’m old.”

The coworkers smile and nod. They share her opinion.

What product or service is she talking about? Do I use it?

“What will make you feel old?” I ask. (Note: All the rad techs are nice young women who allow me to butt in at will.)

She looks up from her papers – a thin stack of to-be-sorted orders. The abrupt movement of her head sets her ponytail into motion.

“A robe.”

“A robe?!” I say.

“Yeah.”

“Why is that?” I ask.

“I mean, a robe just seems like something an old woman would wear. It does to me, anyway.”

“I wear I robe,” I say.

The look I get from this group of younger women – it is pity to be sure. Uncertain to me, however, is whether their pity stems from the fact that I wear a robe or the fact that I had been deluded enough to think it was an ageless garment.

“You don’t wear a robe in the morning?” I ask.

“No,” she says.

None of you?” I ask.

Their head shakes are as uniform as their scrubs.

“So what do you do when you get out of the shower?”

“Get dressed,” they answer.

“In…”

“Our clothes.”

“Oh.”

So now I know. But I don’t care. I adore my robe. It is a warm start to a cold morning. A comfort preceding several hours of potential uncomfortable situations. The coffee of apparel. And they can pity me all they like. I pity them right back. If bathrobes are for the aged, so, too, is the outlook that a woman should do as she likes, regardless of how it appears to others.

image

40 Comments on “Does This Bathrobe Make Me Look Old?

    • Your comment just made me flash back to a random memory of college: I was living in a co-ed dorm, and one evening a guy I knew named Brandon stopped by to ask me some questions about a homework assignment. I was wearing a robe over my t-shirt and sweatpants. He told me I looked like Muhammad Ali.

  1. I am sitting in a robe as I read this…a nice, warm, snuggly robe that is white with black polka dots. Evidently I did not get the message about the robe/age thing…oh wait, I’m over 50. I don’t have to care anymore!!!

  2. I love my robe too and proud to say so! It’s a long, ivory fleece robe with a hood so perfect for cold mornings. Oh, did I mention I’m over 50?

  3. I don’t see how a robe has anything to do with age. Who wants to get dressed while they’re still damp from the shower? Gross! A robe is a cozy transition from sleep to shower to dry enough to get dressed without sticking to your underwear.

  4. At the risk of being NSFW, my wife’s attire after a shower is dependent on the weather. If it’s a cold day, it’s a robe. If it’s a warm day, it’s her b’day suit.

  5. I have always thought of a robe as a woman thing rather than an age thing. My daughter is 5 and has a robe her size, so… She puts on her robe, wraps her head in a towel and puts on her Stompies after a bath!

  6. My husband wears a robe all the time! He bought me one too, but I never wear it. I too go straight from the shower into my work clothes. Just seems more efficient that way. He cuddles up in his robe on the couch on weekend mornings, but I prefer a blanket.

  7. I love my robe. It keeps my warm and toasty in the mornings. Makes the transition out of bed a little easier. I don’t think I am old…or am I?

  8. “The coffee of apparel,” robes indeed go well with coffee!

    That said, I’m a 29-year old male and I love lounging in my robe, sipping on my coffee, and catching up on blogging or reading or what have you.

    Old is a state of mind, not a state of dress. I think.

  9. I’m 25, so I’m really only old to middle schoolers, but I’d love a robe. I just haven’t found one that I really like yet. And I don’t think your robe makes you look old, it makes you look comfy.

Leave a Reply

